Alaska House Passes Legislation to Protect Wolves Adjacent to the Denali National Park

HB 105 Closes Two Areas Near the Park Border to Hunting and Trapping of Wolves

Yesterday, the Alaska House of Representatives approved legislation to prohibit wolf hunting and trapping in two areas adjacent to Denali National Park and Preserve. House Bill 105,  sponsored by Representative Andy Josephson (D-Anchorage), seeks to ensure healthy wolf populations so that park visitors can see wolves in the wild.

“Denali National Park managers report that visitors consistently want to see wolves. While the park has long been among the best places on earth to catch a glimpse of a wolf, in recent years wolf sightings have declined dramatically,” said Rep. Josephson. “Creating areas off-limits to hunting and trapping will result in more successful viewing opportunities.”

The Denali National Park and Preserve is a major tourist destination that hosts more than half a million visitors a year. Tourism in the park provides a significant boost to the local and statewide economies.

Previous buffer zones have protected wildlife populations adjacent to the park from hunting and trapping. The Alaska Board of Game created a buffer zone on the park’s eastern boundary in 2000, but eliminated it in 2010. That year, 45 percent of park visitors reported seeing a wolf, but just four years later only six percent reported a wolf sighting.

“Denali National Park and Preserve is an important tourism asset, and a big part of the attraction of the park is the ability to see wildlife in their natural habitat,” said Rep. Josephson. “This bill will help make sure that future generations of Alaskans and visitors can be as moved as I have been by seeing these amazing animals in this unforgettable place.”

House Bill 105 passed the Alaska House of Representatives today by a vote of 22-18. The bill will now be sent to the Alaska State Senate for consideration.

Please take action, contact Alaskan State Senators and urge them to support House Bill 105. More information, and a sample email can be found in this facebook post.


Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Alaska House Passes Legislation to Protect Wolves Adjacent to the Denali National Park”

    1. Don Young did not (of course) support this measure which passed by a mere 4 vote margin. Please scroll to the bottom of this blog post and follow link to ask the 20 State Senators to support this measure. Just 6 of the 20 are Democrats and likely to vote in favor.
      Don Young will never change his ways; a loathsome individual who has just filed for his 24th term (2018) Ugh.
      http://mustreadalaska.com/don-young-files-24th-term-congress/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Please let me know if we need to send the emails to each one separately or is there a central way to send the message. I went to the web site and I found myself wondering if they would care what someone who is not from Alaska thinks. I never saw so many republican women! But I am willing to do it. Thank you

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I sent the emails to each Senator separately, however you can send one email to all. Just tap to send to one Senator, leave the email open, then copy other addresses by pressing and holding each address. Actually, you do not send your physical address, therefore they will not know that you do not reside in Alaska.
        Give me 10 minutes, I will “group” the emails for you.

        Like

      3. Alaska State Senators email addresses, cut and paste into your email:
        Senator.David.Wilson@akleg.gov, Senator.Bill.Wielechowski@akleg.gov, Senator.Natasha.vonImhof@akleg.gov, Senator.Gary.Stevens@akleg.gov, Senator.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov, Senator.Donny.Olson@akleg.gov, Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov, Senator.Kevin.Meyer@akleg.gov, Senator.Anna.MacKinnon@akleg.gov, Senator.Pete.Kelly@akleg.gov, Senator.Shelley.Hughes@akleg.gov, Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov, Senator.Cathy.Giessel@akleg.gov, Senator.Berta.Gardner@akleg.gov, Senator.Dennis.Egan@akleg.gov, Senator.Mike.Dunleavy@akleg.gov, Senator.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov, Senator.John.Coghill@akleg.gov, Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov, Senator.Tom.Begich@akleg.gov

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s